See what others have to say about The Hideout

My husband and I got married at the HideOut last week. What an incredible venue and even in the snow, it was exceptional. BJ, Tom, and Josh and everyone else at The HideOut worked so hard to make our wedding memorable and they did just that. We appreciate all the hard work and making it possible for us to get married at the HideOut with all our family and friends. 

– Clodagh C., San Francisco, CA 6/26/2019

In another lifetime I was a destination wedding photographer shooting locations from Northern California down through the Pacific Coast of Mexico.  Out of all the amazing places I’ve shot or have attended weddings at over the years the HideOut has to be at the very top.  Wow.  Imagine the incredible rugged beauty of the California Sierras with an amazing event venue built right in the middle of it all – in the middle of nowhere.  It’s the perfect stage to create your own personal mountain fairy tale.  

Did I mention the 20+ person hot tub carved out of the granite overlooking the small lake adjacent the main wedding party cabin?  …Just a small detail among many.

And the owners are super down to earth folks as well.

– Dan B., San Francisco, CA 3/19/2018

After discovering the HideOut on the Bachelor (I swear I was only watching because it was the Tahoe-themed episode!), my fiance and I immediately looked at each other and knew that was our dream spot. Nevertheless, I went on Yelp to see what others had said about the venue.
The common theme that emerged was “magical,” whether the review was from the bride, parents or guests. They’re totally right. It’s a magical setting and absolutely perfect for an outdoor/wilderness-themed wedding. Tom and BJ Hoover (along with their sons) are truly special people who are not only warm and opening, but genuinely want to make sure your wedding is as special as possible. Their property is breathtaking, and all their little customizations, along with a variety of activated, well-decorated spaces, make this an ideal venue for a wedding. I couldn’t recommend these guys enough. Trust the reviews, they’re not lying.
– Nellie D., San Diego, CA 9/17/2018

Just got back from our magical wedding weekend! I literally got chills coming over the hill to our special oasis. Our immediately family stayed in the main lodge, we had plenty of space to spread out and enjoy it all, some in the hot tub, some hiking to the swimming holes, shooting guns, and making memories for a lifetime.
I had the best weekend of my life. BJ/Tome/Dusty and the rest of the family were so helpful, hard working and made the weekend perfect. They are around to help when needed but give you space to enjoy the property. Hands down best venue out there to celebrate a marriage!! Thanks Hoover family for all your hard work and making our dream weekend reality.

– Alicia S. South Lake Tahoe, CA 7/17/2017

The HideOut is magical!! We got married there last month (July 2016) and couldn’t be happier.  We loved the HideOut so much, in fact, that we postponed our planned wedding date by almost a year so we could do it at the HideOut – SO worth it!!

It’s stunningly beautiful.  If you love the Sierras, like my husband and I, the HideOut is an amazing place (the best place? probably).  Our guests were all blown away, and so were we every time we visited.  Not only is the setting incredible (a bowl surrounded by granite by a lake), but what the Hoovers (the owners) have built is gorgeous as well…. I mean… you can jump off the porch into the lake! There is a huge hot tub built into the rock with a view! The lodge is built of beautiful, impossibly large tree trunks! It will take your breath away.  And I haven’t even started talking about the wildflowers blooming everywhere… the sunset light on the rocks… the stream-side hikes… the amazing kitchen…!

The Hoovers (the owners) are so kind and delightful to work with.  They were responsive and thoughtful in the planning process, and were extremely helpful and fun during the wedding weekend!  They were always able to answer questions and help out.  It is clear they are just very good people.

Look at the pictures, and head out and visit and chat with the Hoovers.  It will exceed your expectations!! I hope someone else I know gets married up there so I can go back soon.

– Alexandra G., San Francisco, CA 8/28/2016

Gosh, what can I say about The Hideout that hasn’t already been said? This was the most amazing wedding venue that my husband and I could have asked for. We saw it on their website and booked their last available wedding weekend for 2017 sight unseen! I managed to see the location under 20 feet of snow in February and I was still in love. When I got to see it in person for their open house in July, I was IN LOVE. If you like open air, pine trees, huge granite boulders, log cabins, and antique old world charm – this place is for you. Plus if you like having venue owners who really care about their clients and are on site for any issue during your stay – you’ll love The Hideout. Here’s just a few tidbits:

– 40 person granite hot tub
– stocked lake for fishing and canoeing
– 5 bedroom log cabin with individual bathrooms and fireplaces in every room
– Dine in kitchen
– Huge dining table
– Amazing bridal/master suite with great views
– Separate saloon with wifi
– Camping onsite with heated showers!

We definitely want to come back for our 10 year anniversary. Thanks Tom, BJ, Dusty, Josh & Isa!

– Ashley T., Santa Cruz, CA 10/13/2017

Rated #37 BEST Wedding Venue in ALL of AMERICA – Yelp/Dailymeal

The place is perfect. We booked the Hideout for our wedding site unseen. We did not view the property until a month before the wedding. And everything was perfect.  Tom and BJ are great, they are there to help in any way possible and let you have the time of your life.  The day after the wedding Tom was gracious enough to take time out of his day and walk a group of us through the woods and show us the way to a nice little lake a short hike away. Their main rule don’t burn the place down. The landscape is perfect with the grass ceremony area, small meadow, grass reception area, old wooden wagon and dinner surrounded by trees.  Your guests can mingle and walk the grounds and soak up the scenery while you do photos.  After a night of dancing, relax the night away in the giant hot tub and take a midnight swim in the lake. The grounds are flat except for the drive in and the small walk up a hill to the lodge and saloon. Everything is accessible for the elderly and handicap.  Word of advice if you plan on bringing a trailer with a good amount of stuff ie beer wine all your rentals bring a truck with a big engine or pucker butt hill might take some additional man power to get your loaded down suv over the hill. Words can not describe this place enough, it is not a matter of if but when we will go back.

– Mill Valley, CA 10/6/2013

Had my dream wedding at The Hideout. Rehearsal dinner in the western saloon followed by and old west poker tournament, perfect ceremony in their beautifully kept site, and the reception went all night long from the dance floor to a bluegrass bonfire. BJ and Tom, were so helpful and supportive, I felt like they were a part of the family be the end of the stay. Having everything in one place really brought everyone together and facilitated life long memories instead of one whirlwind wedding day. Every aspect of this place is well thought out. Copper tub in the bridal sweet, huge hot tub under the stars, tons of room for games and activities… could go on forever. Being a Tahoe local, it was fun to get away from the bustle and go somewhere new, and it was of course fun for the out of town guests alike. Has accommodations fit for the outdoorsy type, as well as city slickers looking for a comfortable getaway. Already want to save for a 10 or 20 year marriage celebration back at The Hideout. Truly a treasure and gift to get to stay at this wonderful place!

– Christina 7/2/14

We were able to enjoy this beautiful home with friends that invited us up to join them. We would have never known about this place without them. Now because of them we are planning to have our wedding here. If you love nature then there is no better place to really enjoy it then here at the hideout.
– Jubilee (Susanville, CA) 07/07/10

Awesome!! The Hideout was amazing. Our family had a wonderful time relaxing, hiking, swimming and playing in the snow all at the same time. We would love to return one day. B.J and tom were the most wonderful hosts and very caring and accommodating!

– T (Highland, CA) 06/30/10

The most amazing place you will ever go!  Do not pass up the opportunity to go and stay at the Hideout!! The experience, the beauty, the craftsmanship, the property, the entire place is breathtaking!! The owners Tom and Bj are amazing hosts! We had the most beautiful wedding last fall! Every person that came was captivated and amazed this beautiful place existed! It is the very best!!! If you get a chance go,see for yourself you will love it!! And if you love the outdoors and might be getting married consider this amazing destination, we have never had an event go so smoothly, thanks to our new friends the Hoovers!!

– Aimee & Ryan (Pioneer, CA) 04/01/10

We held our daughter’s wedding with 90 guests at the Hideout over Labor Day weekend. It was a fantastic experience. Tom and BJ were the most gracious of hosts. The accommodations were very comfortable, the scenery was breathtaking and our guests were very impressed. Tom even built a dance floor for us! I loved cooking in the big kitchen. I would recommend this location to anyone who wants to get away from it all. We used the wireless internet to stay in touch with the world. The natural rock spa was amazing. My dog, Doce, had the time of his life. Thanks Tom and BJ!

– Linda102 (Placerville, CA) 09/17/09